Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Lochaber

Local Welcome Pack / Citizens Advice Bureaux / Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Useful Links

 

In Lochaber you will find the wild natural beauty of Glencoe and the busy commercial centre of Fort William – all in one area. This is also the place of the annual world mountain bike championships and Ben Nevis, the highest peak in Britain. At Mallaig the Road to the Isles meets the sea, and the famous West Highland rail line completes its scenic route from Glasgow. With all these attractions at hand, it comes as no surprise that Lochaber is known as the outdoor capital of the UK.

Lochaber has compiled a local Welcome Pack for immigrants which is available in Polish and Latvian from the Website of the Lochaber Enterprise.

 

Local Citizens Advice Bureaux

 

Lochaber Citizens Advice Bureau

Dudley Road

Fort William PH33 6JB

Tel: 01397 – 705311

Fax: 01397 – 700610

Email: admin@lochabercab.casonline.org.uk

 

Opening Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 10.00 – 14.00

Wednesday 10.00 – 18.00

Closed Weekends.

 

Outreach:

Fishermen’s Mission

Mallaig

1st Wednesday of each month 10.30 – 15.30

 

 

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools

 

Lochaber Leisure Centre
Belford Road
Fort William
PH33 6BU

Tel: 01397 707254

Manager: Graham Brooks

 

Mallaig Swimming Pool
Fank Brae
Mallaig
PH41 4RQ

Tel: 01687 462229

http://www.mallaigswimmingpool.co.uk/

 

Arainn Shuaineirt (No Swimming Pool)
Ardnamurchan High School
Strontian
PH36 4JA

Tel: 01397 709228

Manager: Eoghan Carmichael

 

Nevis Centre (No Swimming Pool)
An Aird
Fort William
PH33 6AN

Tel: 01397 700707

 

Libraries

Ardnamurchan / Caol / Fort William / Kinlochleven / Knoydart / Mallaig

 

Ardnamurchan Community Library
Sunart Centre

Strontian
Acharacle
PH36 4JA
Telephone/Fax: 01397 709226
e-mail: ardnamurchan.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

09.00 – 16.00

Tuesday

09.00 – 16.00, 19.00 – 21.00

Wednesday

09.00 – 16.00

Thursday

09.00 – 16.00, 19.00 – 21.00

Friday

09.00 – 16.00

Saturday

14.00 – 16.00

 

 

Caol Library
Glenkingie Street,
Caol, Fort William,
Lochaber, PH33 7DP.

Telephone/Fax UK: 01397 702829

E-mail: caol.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

14.00 – 17.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 13.00, 16.00 – 19.00

Wednesday

14.00 – 17.00

Thursday

10.00 – 13.00

Friday

17.00 – 20.00

Saturday

closed

 

Fort William Library
Airds Crossing
High Street
Fort William
Lochaber PH33 6EU

Telephone: 01397 703552
Fax: 01397 703538

E-mail: fortwilliam.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 – 20.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 18.00

Wednesday

10.00 – 13.00

Thursday

10.00 – 20.00

Friday

10.00 - 18.00

Saturday

10.00 – 13.00

 

 

 

Kinlochleven Library &
The Aluminium Story Visitor Centre
Linnhe Road
Kinlochleven
PH50 4RP

Telephone: 01855 831663
Fax: 01855 831663

E-mail: kinlochleven.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours April - September:

Monday

10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Tuesday

10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Wednesday

10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Thursday

10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Friday

10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Saturday

closed

 

Knoydart Library
The Store
Inverie
Knoydart
by Mallaig
PH41 4PL

 

Opening hours:

Monday

closed

Tuesday

closed

Wednesday

16.00 - 17.00

Thursday

closed

Friday

closed

Saturday

12.00 – 13.00

 

Mallaig Library
Mallaig and Morar Community Centre
West Bay
Mallaig
PH41 4PY

Telephone: 01687 460097

E-mail: mallaig.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

13.00 – 17.00

Tuesday

10.30 – 14.00

Wednesday

09.30 – 13.30

Thursday

17.00 – 20.00

Friday

closed

Saturday

10.00 – 12.00

 

Schools

Achaphubuil Primary, by Fort William PH33 7AL
Mrs M J C Scott
01397 772748
e-mail: achaphubuil.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Acharacle Primary, Acharacle, Argyll PH36 4JV
Mrs J Byrne
Tel/Fax: 01967 431645
e-mail: acharacle.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ardgour Primary, Ardgour, Fort William PH33 7AB
Miss M Adam
01855 841347
e-mail: ardgour.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ardnamurchan High, Drumnatorran, Strontian PH36 4JA
Miss C MacDonald
Tel: 01397 700105 Fax: 01397 709227
e-mail: ardnamurchan.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Arisaig Primary, Arisaig PH39 4NH
M Jones
01687 450282
e-mail: arisaig.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ballachulish Primary, Ballachulish PH49 4JQ
S Clark
Tel/Fax: 01855 811373
e-mail: ballachulish.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Banavie Primary, Tomonie, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LX
Mrs M Dunham
Tel/Fax: 01397 772402
e-mail: banavie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Canna Primary, Isle of Canna PH44 4RS
Mrs E Soe - Paing
01687 462471
e-mail: canna.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Caol Primary, Glenkingie Street, Fort William PH33 7DP
Miss J Cattanach
Tel/Fax: 01397 703366
e-mail: caol.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Duror Primary, Appin, Argyll PA38 4BW
Mrs M MacDonald
01631 740339
e-mail: duror.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Eigg Primary, Isle of Eigg PH42 4RL
Mrs H Ibrahim
01687 482424
e-mail: eigg.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Fort William Primary, Achintore Road,Fort William PH33 6RQ
Mrs S Commander
Tel/Fax: 01397 702329
e-mail: fortwilliam.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Fort William R.C. Primary, Fassifern Road,Fort William PH33 6BD
Miss L Macdonald
01397 702674
e-mail: fortwilliamrc.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Glencoe Primary, Ballachulish, Glencoe PH49 4HP
Mrs M MacDonald
01855 811359
e-mail: glencoe.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Invergarry Primary, Invergarry PH35 4HG
Miss C Stoddart
Tel: 01809 501317 Fax: 01809 501356
e-mail: invergarry.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Inverie Primary, Inverie, Knoydart PH41 4PL
Mrs E Klemm
01687 462226
e-mail: inverie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Inverlochy Primary, Inverlochy, Fort William PH33 6LS
Ms Tanya Ross
01397 702620
e-mail: inverlochy.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Kilchoan Primary, Kilchoan, Acharacle, Argyll PH36 4LH
Mrs L McLuckie
Tel/Fax: 01972 510258
e-mail: kilchoan.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinlochleven High School, Kinlochleven PH50 4QE
Mr C Millar-Craig - Acting
Tel: 01855 831273 Fax: 01855 831603
e-mail: kinlochleven.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinlochleven Primary, Kinlochleven PH50 4QE
Mrs C Allan
Tel: 01855 831708 Fax: 01855 831473
e-mail: kinlochleven.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lady Lovat Primary, Morar, Mallaig PH40 4PA
Ms M A Sutherland
01687 462127
e-mail: ladylovat.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lochaber High School, Fort William PH33 7ND
Mr Jim Sutherland - Acting
Tel: 01397 702512 Fax: 01397 703667
e-mail: lochaber.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Lochaline Primary, Lochaline, Morvern, by Oban PA34 5XT
K Adams
01967 421245
e-mail: lochaline.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lochyside R.C. Primary, Fort William PH33 7NX
Miss V M Smith
Tel: 01397 703377 Fax: 01397 706113
e-mail: lochysiderc.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Mallaig High School, Mallaig PH41 4RG
M Sullivan
Tel: 01687 462107 Fax: 01697 462219
e-mail: mallaig.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Mallaig Primary, Mallaig PH41 4QX
Mrs J Smith
Tel: 01687 462420 Fax: 01697 462507
e-mail: mallaig.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Muck Primary, Isle of Muck PH41 2RP
E Henderson
01687 462367
e-mail: muck.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Roybridge Primary, Roybridge PH31 4AG
Mrs K MacGillivray
01397 712212
e-mail: roybridge.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Rum Primary, Isle of Rum PH43 4RR
S Poole
01687 462034
e-mail: rum.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Spean Bridge Primary, Spean Bridge PH34 4EU
Mrs K MacGillivray
01397 712914
e-mail: speanbridge.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

St. Brides Primary, Onich, Fort William PH33 6SA
Miss S M Kemp
Tel/Fax: 01855 821280
e-mail: stbrides.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Strontian Primary, by Acharacle PH36 4JA
Mrs M V Ogilvie, LL.B.
01967 402363
e-mail: strontian.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Upper Achintore Primary, Zetland Avenue, Fort William PH33 6LL
Miss K Kelly - Acting
01397 702059
e-mail: upperachintore.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

 

Useful links

Lochaber community website http://www.lochaber.com/

Highlands and Islands Enterprise Lochaber http://www.hie.co.uk/lochaber

Lochaber Welcome Pack in Latvian http://www.hie.co.uk/LOC-Miscellaneous/Welcome-Pack-Latvian-version-2.pdf

Lochaber Welcome Pack in Polish http://www.hie.co.uk/LOC-Miscellaneous/Welcome-Pack-1st-Polish-pub-version.pdf

 

This page was last updated on 27 November 2006. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme