Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Caithness

Citizens Advice Bureaux / Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Places of Worship / Useful Links

 

Caithness is the most northerly area in the Highlands and lays claim to the most northerly castle on mainland Britain: the Castle of Mey, which was bought by the late Queen Mother in 1952.

The scenery combines the typical Highland landscape of mountains and moor with flat fertile farmland and some of the finest beaches in Scotland.

An airport at Wick offers regular services to Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Lerwick.

 

Local Citizens Advice Bureaux

Caithness Citizens Advice Bureau

7a Brabster Street

Thurso

KW14 7AP

Tel: 01847-894243 or 01847-896796

Fax: 01847-894243

Email: bureau@cnesscab.cabnet.org.uk

 

Directions

On coming into Thurso from East Cross bridge, take second turning left. Office 50 metres onr ight. FromW est, approach traffic lights, turn left thent ake the first right turn; office 50 metres on right.

 

Opening hours:

Monday – Friday: 10.00 – 14.00

Closed weekends.

 

Wick Citizens Advice Burau

123 High Street

Wick KW1 4LR

Tel: 01955-605989

Fax: 01955 – 606673

Opening hours:

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays 10.00 – 14.00

 

 

Swimming Pools

 

Thurso Swimming Pool
Millbank Road
Thurso
KW14 8PS

Tel: 01847 893260

Manager: George Sanders

 

Wick Swimming Pool
Burn Street
Wick
KW1 5EH

Tel: 01955 603711

Manager: George Sanders

 

Libraries

Area Libraries Officer: Alison Forrest

Dornoch Library
Carnegie Buildings
High Street
Dornoch
Sutherland IV25 3SH

Telephone: 01862 811079
Fax: 01862 811079

dornoch.library@highland.gov.uk

 

 

Thurso Library
Davidson's Lane
Thurso
Caithness KW14 7AF

Telephone: 01847 893237
Fax: 01847 896114

email: thurso.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 - 18.00

Tuesday

10.00 - 20.00

Wednesday

10.00 - 18.00

Thursday

10.00 - 13.00

Friday

10.00 - 20.00

Saturday

10.00 - 13.00

 

Wick Library
Sinclair Terrace
Wick
Caithness KW1 5AB

Telephone: 01955 602864
Fax: 01955 603000

email: wick.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 - 18.00

Tuesday

10.00 - 20.00

Wednesday

10.00 - 13.00

Thursday

10.00 - 18.00

Friday

10.00 - 20.00

Saturday

10.00 - 13.00

 

Schools

Bower Primary, Bowermadden, Wick KW1 4TT
Mrs C Sutherland
Tel: 01955 641225
e-mail: bower.primary@highland.gov.uk

Canisbay Primary, Canisbay, Wick KW1 4YH
Ms M Miller
Tel: 01955 611337
e-mail: canisbay.primary@highland.gov.uk

Castletown Primary, Castletown, Thurso KW14 8UA
Ms S Malcolm
Tel/Fax: 01847 821256
e-mail: castletown.primary@highland.gov.uk

Crossroads Primary, Dunnet, Thurso KW14 8XP
Mrs C Sutherland
Tel/Fax: 01847 851629
e-mail: crossroads.primary@highland.gov.uk

Dunbeath Primary, Dunbeath KW6 6EY
Mrs C Grant - Acting
Tel: 01593 731286
e-mail: dunbeath.primary@highland.gov.uk

Halkirk Primary, Halkirk KW12 7YN
Mrs F Disbury
Tel: 01847 831246 Fax: 01847 831973
e-mail: halkirk.primary@highland.gov.uk

Hillhead Primary, Willowbank, Wick KW1 4PE
A Budge
Tel: 01955 603233 Fax: 01955 603320
e-mail: hillhead.primary@highland.gov.uk

Keiss Primary, Keiss, Wick KW1 4XB
Mrs M Miller
Tel: 01955 631269
e-mail: keiss.primary@highland.gov.uk

Lybster Primary, Lybster, Wick KW3 6BJ
Mrs C Grant - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01593 721224
e-mail: lybster.primary@highland.gov.uk

Miller Academy Primary, Princes Street, Thurso KW14 7DH
Mrs E Mitchell - Acting
Tel: 01847 892815 Fax: 01847 894427
e-mail: milleracademy.primary@highland.gov.uk

Mount Pleasant Primary, Castletown Road, Thurso KW14 8HL
Mrs K Farmer
Tel: 01847 893419 Fax: 01847 892601
e-mail: mountpleasant.primary@highland.gov.uk

North Wick Primary, Girnigoe Street, Wick KW1 4DT
D Lundie
Tel/Fax: 01955 602873
e-mail: northwick.primary@highland.gov.uk

Pennyland Primary, Trostan Road, Thurso KW14 7NY
P Hagan
Tel: 01847 892661 Fax: 01847 890601
e-mail: pennyland.primary@highland.gov.uk

Pulteneytown Academy Primary, Seaforth Avenue, Wick KW1 5ND
Miss L Wark, BA
Tel: 01955 602649
e-mail: pulteneytown.primary@highland.gov.uk

Reay Primary, Reay, Thurso KW14 7RE
Mrs E Sutherland
Tel/Fax: 01847 811206
e-mail: reay.primary@highland.gov.uk

South Wick Primary, Roxburgh Road, Wick KW1 5HP
Ms P Bowers
Tel: 01955 603203
e-mail: southwick.primary@highland.gov.uk

Thrumster Primary, Thrumster, Wick KW1 5TR
Mrs L MacKay
Tel: 01955 651244
e-mail: thrumster.primary@highland.gov.uk

Thurso High School, Ormlie Road, Thurso KW14 7DS
Dr F Grant
Tel: 01847 893822 Fax: 01847 895509
e-mail: thurso.high@highland.gov.uk

Watten Primary, Watten, nr Wick KW1 5YJ
Mrs K Gunn (Acting)
Tel: 01955 621287
e-mail: watten.primary@highland.gov.uk

Wick High School, West Banks Avenue, Wick KW1 5LU
Mr A Traill
Tel: 01955 603333 Fax: 01955 602198
e-mail: wick.high@highland.gov.uk

Mount Pleasant Special Educ. Unit, Castletown Rd, Thurso KW14 8HL
Mrs K Farmer
Tel: 01847 893419
e-mail: mountpleasant.primary@highland.gov.uk

Caithness Early Years Autism Centre, Wick KW1 5ND
Miss L Wark, BA
Tel: 01955 602649
e-mail: pulteneytown.primary@highland.gov.uk

Thurso High School Special Ed Unit, Ormlie Road, Thurso KW14 7DS
Ms E Calder
Tel: 01847 890692
e-mail: thurso.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Places of Worship

The Caithness community website lists all places of worship within the area at http://www.caithness.org/community/worship/.

 

Useful links

Caithness Community Website http://www.caithness.org/

HIE Caithness and Sutherland http://www.hie.co.uk/case

Highland Council pages on Caithness

 

This page was last updated on 27 November 2006. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme