Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Badenoch & Strathspey

Citizens Advice Bureaux / Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Useful Links

 

The area is the gateway to the Highlands, and home to Scotland’s second national park - in the Cairngorms. Apart from the single peak of Ben Nevis in Lochaber, the Cairngorms are the highest mountain range in Britain. They are one of the many outdoor attractions of the area, along with Salmon fishing on the River Spey, water sports, golf, and bird-watching, to name but a few. A major refurbishment of Aviemore has given the area a further economic boost.

Local Citizens Advice Bureau

 

Community Advice and information Service

2 Inverewe

Grampian Road

Aviemore

 

Tel: 01479 810919

 

 

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools

 

Badenoch Centre (No Swimming Pool)
Spey Street,
Kingussie,
PH21 1EH
Tel: 01540 662485

Manager: Paul MacArthur

Swimming is provided through the Macdonald Highland Resort, Aviemore, PH22 1PN (tel: 0845 608 3734) where the swimming pool is supported by Highland Council through grant aid.

This ensures that Highland residents can access the pool at reduced rates. To qualify for reduced price access residents must obtain a High Life card, either through Aviemore Service Point, or any High Life leisure facility throughout the Highlands.

Further details can be obtained on the resort web-site at www.aviemorehighlandresort.com

 

 

Libraries

Aviemore Library
Units 1 & 2
Market Hall
Aviemore
Badenoch & Strathspey
PH22 1RH

Telephone: 01479 811113

E-mail: aviemore.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

closed

Tuesday

14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Wednesday

10.00 - 12.30, 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Thursday

closed

Friday

10.00 - 12.30, 14.00 - 17.00

Saturday

closed

 

Badenoch Library
Badenoch Centre
Spey Street
Kingussie
Badenoch & Strathspey
PH21 1EH

Telephone: 01540 661596
Fax: 01540 662345

E-mail: badenoch.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

13.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Tuesday

closed

Wednesday

13.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Thursday

closed

Friday

10.00 - 12.00, 13.00 - 17.00

Saturday

10.00 - 12.00

 

Grantown on Spey Library
YMCA Building
80 High Street
Grantown on Spey
Badenoch & Strathspey
PH26 3EL

Telephone: 01479 873175
Fax: 01479 873175

E-mail: grantown.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday 13.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00

Tuesday 10:00 – 13:00

Wednesday 10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Thursday 13.00 - 17.00, 18:00 - 20:00

Friday 10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00

Saturday Closed

 

 

Schools

Abernethy Primary, Nethybridge PH25 3ED
H Edge
Tel/Fax: 01479 821274
e-mail: abernethy.primary@highland.gov.uk

Alvie Primary, Kincraig, Kingussie PH21 1ND
Mrs H Brown
Tel/Fax: 01540 651238
e-mail: alvie.primary@highland.gov.uk

Aviemore Primary, Milton Park, Aviemore PH22 1RR
Ms R Smith
Tel: 01479 810343 Fax: 01479 810980
e-mail: aviemore.primary@highland.gov.uk

Carrbridge Primary, Main Road, Carrbridge PH23 3AF
Mrs J Offord
Tel/Fax: 01479 841249
e-mail: carrbridge.primary@highland.gov.uk

Dalwhinnie Primary, Dalwhinnie PH19 1AB
Mrs K Craig - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01528 522228
e-mail: dalwhinnie.primary@highland.gov.uk

Deshar Primary, Boat of Garten PH24 3BU
H Edge - Acting HT Cluster
Tel/Fax: 01479 831226
e-mail: deshar.primary@highland.gov.uk

Gergask Primary, Laggan Bridge, Newtonmore PH20 1AH
Mrs R Dickson
Tel/Fax: 01528 544272
e-mail: gergask.primary@highland.gov.uk

Grantown Grammar School, Cromdale Rd, Grantown PH26 3HU
M C MacLennan
Tel: 01479 872649 Fax: 01479 873649
e-mail: grantown.grammar@highland.gov.uk

Grantown Primary, South Street, Grantown on Spey PH26 3HZ
Miss M Robertson
Tel: 01479 872525 Fax: 01479 873664
e-mail: grantown.primary@highland.gov.uk

Kingussie High School, Ruthven Road, Kingussie PH21 1ES
E Broadley
Tel: 01540 661475 Fax: 01540 661123
e-mail: kingussie.high@highland.gov.uk

Kingussie Primary, Station Road, Kingussie PH21 1EN
Mrs P Lockhart
Tel/Fax: 01540 661354
e-mail: kingussie.primary@highland.gov.uk

Newtonmore Primary, Main Street, Newtonmore PH20 1DN
Mrs K Craig - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01540 673252
e-mail: newtonmore.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

 

Useful links

Highlands & Islands Enterprise Moray http://www.hie.co.uk/moray/

Visit Aviemore, with local community information http://www.visitaviemore.co.uk/

 

This page was last updated on 09.01.2007. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme