Highland Life logo

Highland Life / News / Highland Council News / Tarbat Community Council Elections

Tarbat Community Council Elections

Issued: 28 Oct 2010

Residents living in and around Portmahomack are invited to stand for election to their local community council from next Thursday (4 November 2010).

The Tarbat Community Council which covers the Portmahomack, Tarbat Ness, Rockfield, Tarrel, New Geanies, Mains of Geanies and Balaldie areas is due to have an election to elect community councillors to represent residents living there.

There are nine places in total on the community council. If more than nine nominations are received a postal ballot will be held and all those living in the area on the full electoral register will have to choose which nine of all the nominations received they want to represent their views.

The community councillor role is voluntary with meetings usually held monthly in the evening. The key roles of community councils are:

  • To represent the views of the community to The Highland Council and other public bodies operating in their area
  • To act to further the interests of their communities
  • To be consulted on planning applications within their area
  • To consider exercising their powers to object to the granting, renewal or transfer of liquor licences

The community council also represents residents views at the Highland Council's Tain and Easter Ross Ward Forum.

Nominations are invited between 4 and 18 November 2010. Any residents interested in standing for election can pick up a nomination form from The Portmahomack Post Office, the Carnegie Hall, Tarbat Old Primary School or the Tain Service Point. The completed form should be returned to Carol Elliot, The Returning Officer, The Highland Council, 24 High St, Tain, IV19 1AE by 12noon on Thursday 18 November 2010. The names of those validly nominated will be displayed in the community after this date.

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme