Highland Life logo

Highland Life / News / Highland Council News / Scottish Youth Parliament Candidates for Highland

Scottish Youth Parliament Candidates for Highland

Issued: 20 Mar 2007

Two Highland candidates have been automatically elected to the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) while another nine will be vying for four further places when voting takes place on-line between Monday 26 March and Friday 30 March.

There will be no contest in Caithness Sutherland and Easter Ross. The two candidates nominated are automatically elected. They are Alexander MacLeod, Tain and Siobhan MacLeod, Kinlochbervie.

In Ross, Skye and Lochaber, five candidates are challenging for two places on the Scottish Youth Parliament. The candidates are: - Carlen Barker, Fort William; Anne Marie MacRae, Portree; Michelle MacDougall, Fort William; Sunny Moodie, Dingwall and Gillian Elizabeth Slider, Ullapool.

Four candidates are contesting the Inverness and Badenoch seat. They are: Kasia Gniade, Inverness; Phi MacDonald, Inverness; Aileen Macrae, Inverness and Jessica Sweeney, Inverness.

Information about the candidates is posted on the Young Scot web site www.youngscot.org/highland.

Voting on line runs from Monday 26 March until 9 am on Friday 30 March. The results should be known at noon on Friday 30 March.

Voters, aged 12 -25 , need to have a High Life ~ Young Scot card to be eligible to vote.

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme