Highland Life logo

Highland Life / News / Highland Council News / Scottish Parliament and The Highland Council Elections

Scottish Parliament and The Highland Council Elections

Issued: 21 Mar 2007

The Scottish Parliament and The Highland Council elections will be called tomorrow (Thursday) when public notices seeking nominations from candidates will be published by the Regional Returning Officer. The deadline for nominations is 4.00 pm on Wednesday 11 April.

Nominations can be handed in to the Elections Office at Council HQ, Glenurquhart Road, Inverness, as well as Council offices at Barron House, Nairn; Town House, Inverness; Council Offices, Dingwall; Tigh Na Sgire, Portree; Lochaber House, Fort William, The Meadows, Dornoch and Market Square, Wick.

The elections take place on Thursday 3 May, with voting taking place between 7 am ~ 10 pm.

The Returning Officer for the Highland and Islands Region is Arthur McCourt, Chief Executive, The Highland Council.

He is responsible for returning results in:

  1. The three Highland constituencies:
    • Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross (41,606 electors)
    • Ross, Skye and Inverness West (59,207)
    • Inverness East, Nairn and Lochaber (71,102)
  2. The 7 Additional Members to represent the Highlands and Islands Region on the Scottish Parliament.
  3. The 80 members to represent The Highland Council.

For the first time in a Highland Council election, electors will be voting by Proportional Representation, using a single transferable vote. This has resulted in the creation of 22 multi member wards ~ 14 four-member wards and 8 three member wards, which will replace the existing 80 individual wards.

Another first is that counting will be conducted electronically. All counting will take place at Inverness Leisure Centre, Bught Park.

An election helpline has been set up by the Returning Officer to assist the public and candidates with any queries. The number is 0845 603 5528.

Extensive information about the elections is posted on The Highland Council's web site www.highland.gov.uk A new feature will be a post code finder which allows electors to identify their polling station by typing in their postal code.

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme