Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Sutherland

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Useful Links

 

Sutherland covers the largest area of the Highland mainland. Its landscape is characterised by sandy beaches on a rocky coastline and magnificent mountains. Recent multi-million pound investments in the fishery harbours of Kinlochbervie and Lochinver in the West have turned them into two of the busiest fishery ports in the UK.

 

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools

Sutherland Swimming Pool
Back Road
Golspie
KW10 6RA
Tel: 01408 633437
Manager: Lisa Hay

 

North Coast Leisure Pool
Bettyhill
KW14 6SS
Tel: 01641 521400

 

Assynt Leisure Sport, Youth and Learning Centre (No Swimming Pool!)
Culag Harbour,
Lochinver,
IV27 4LQ
Tel: 01571 844123

Web-site: www.assyntleisure.co.uk

 

 

Libraries

 

Dornoch Library
Carnegie Buildings
High Street
Dornoch
Sutherland IV25 3SH

Telephone: 01862 811079
Fax: 01862 811079

Email: dornoch.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Bettyhill Library & Service Point
Naver Teleservice Centre
Bettyhill
Sutherland
KW14 7SS

Telephone: 01641 521242

E-mail: bettyhill.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

09.00 – 12.30

Tuesday

09.00 – 12.30

Wednesday

09.00 – 12.30

Thursday

09.00 – 12.30

Friday

09.00 – 12.30

Saturday

closed

 

Bonar Bridge Library
Carnegie Library
West End
Bonar Bridge
Sutherland IV24 3EA

Telephone: 01863 766838
Fax: 01863 766838

E-mail: bonarbridge.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 – 12.30, 14.30 – 17.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 12.30

Wednesday

10.00 – 12.30

Thursday

10.00 – 12.30, 17.30 – 20.00

Friday

10.00 – 12.30

Saturday

closed

 

 

Brora Cultural Centre & Library
Gower Street
Brora
Sutherland KW9 6PD

Telephone: 01408 621128
Fax: 01408 622064

E-mail: brora.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

13.00 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 12.30, 14.00 – 17.00

Wednesday

closed

Thursday

14.00 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Friday

10.00 – 12.30, 13.30 – 16.30

Saturday

closed

 

 

Dornoch Library
Carnegie Buildings
High Street
Dornoch
Sutherland IV25 3SH

Telephone: 01862 811079
Fax: 01862 811079

Email: dornoch.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 – 12.00, 13.00 – 17.00

Tuesday

09.00 – 13.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Wednesday

14.00 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Thursday

closed

Friday

09.00 – 13.00, 14.00 – 17.00

Saturday

closed

 

Golspie High School
Sutherland KW10 6RA

Telephone: 01408 634084

Email: golspie.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

closed

Tuesday

13.30 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Wednesday

closed

Thursday

10.00 – 12.00, 13.30 – 17.00

Friday

14.00 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Saturday

10.00 – 12.00

 

Helmsdale Library & Service Point
Community Centre
Dunrobin Street
Helmsdale
Sutherland KW8 6JX

Telephone: 01431 821742

Email: helmsdale.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 – 12.00, 15.00 – 17.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 12.30

Wednesday

10.00 – 12.30

Thursday

10.00 – 12.30

Friday

10.00 – 12.00, 15.00 – 17.00

Saturday

closed

 

 

Lairg Library
Main Street
Lairg
Sutherland IV27 4DD

Telephone: 01549 402577

E-mail: lairg.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday

10.00 – 12.00, 14.30 – 17.00

Tuesday

14.30 – 17.00 – 18.00 – 20.00

Wednesday

closed

Thursday

10.00 – 12.00, 14.30 – 17.00

Friday

14.30 – 17.00 – 18.00 – 20.00

Saturday

closed

 

 

Schools

Achfary Primary, by Lairg IV27 4PQ
Mrs L Gill
Tel: 01971 500260
e-mail: achfary.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Altnaharra Primary, Altnaharra, by Lairg IV27 4UE
Miss I M Gillies
Tel: 01549 411244
e-mail: altnaharra.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Bonar Bridge Primary, Bonar Bridge IV24 3AP
Mrs A Taylor
Tel: 01863 766221 Fax: 01863 766195
e-mail: bonarbridge.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Brora Primary, Brora, Sutherland KW9 6PF
Mrs D Carney
Tel: 01408 621441
e-mail: brora.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Dornoch Academy, Evelix Road, Dornoch IV25 3HR
J H Garvie, BSc
Tel: 01862 810246 Fax: 01862 811128
e-mail: dornoch.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Dornoch Primary, Evelix Road, Dornoch IV25 3HR
Ms J Mason
Tel: 01862 810180 Fax: 01862 810180
e-mail: dornoch.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Durness Primary, Durness, by Lairg IV27 4PN
G K Bruce
Tel: 01971 511237
e-mail: durness.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Edderton Primary, Edderton, Tain IV19 1LF
Mrs C Gordon
Tel: 01862 821260
e-mail: edderton.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Farr High & Farr Primary School, Bettyhill, KW14 7SS
J Johnston
Tel: 01641 521217 Fax: 01641 521203
e-mail Farr high: farr.high@highland.gov.uk
e-mail Farr Primary: farr.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Gledfield Primary, Ardgay IV24 3BN
A J M Hill, BA
Tel: 01863 766580
e-mail: gledfield.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Golspie High, Golspie KW10 6RF
W B Irwin
Tel: 01408 633451 Fax: 01408 633833
e-mail: golspie.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Golspie Primary, Golspie, Sutherland KW10 6RW
Mrs D Murray
Tel: 01408 633520 Fax: 01408 633985
e-mail: golspie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Helmsdale Primary, Helmsdale, Sutherland KW8 6JW
S T Gillies, BA
Tel: 01431 821244
e-mail: helmsdale.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinbrace Primary, Kinbrace KW11 6UB
Mrs A E Millar
Tel: 01431 831243
e-mail: kinbrace.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinlochbervie High, Manse Road, Kinlochbervie IV27 4RG
I Smith, BSc, PhD
Tel: 01971 521767 Fax: 01971 521419
e-mail: kinlochbervie.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinlochbervie Primary, Manse Road, Kinlochbervie IV27 4RA
Mrs J Bruce
Tel: 01971 521223
e-mail: kinlochbervie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lairg Primary, Lairg IV27 4DD
Miss I M Gillies
Tel: 01549 402345
e-mail: lairg.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lochinver Primary, Lochinver, by Lairg IV27 4LH
Mrs C Warwick
Tel: 01571 844235 Fax: 01571 844483
e-mail: lochinver.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Melvich Primary, by Thurso KW14 7YL
A MacKay/G Paterson
Tel: 01641 531200
e-mail: melvich.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Rogart Primary, Rogart IV28 3XF
Mrs A Law
Tel: 01408 641335
e-mail: rogart.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Rosehall Primary, Altas, by Lairg IV27 4EU
Mrs J Hunter
Tel: 01549 441214
e-mail: rosehall.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Scourie Primary, by Lairg IV27 4TG
Mrs L Kerr
Tel: 01971 502282
e.mail: scourie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Stoer Primary, Stoer, by Lairg IV27 4JE
Ms A Macleod
Tel/Fax: 01571 855247
e-mail: stoer.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Tongue Primary, by Lairg IV27 4XL
G K Bruce
Tel: 01847 611208
e-mail: tongue.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

 

Useful links

HIE Caithness and Sutherland http://www.hie.co.uk/case

Highland Council pages on Sutherland http://www.highland.gov.uk/yourcouncil/
highlandfactsandfigures/thehighlandcouncilareas/sutherland/

 

This page was last updated on 27 November 2006. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme