Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Skye and Lochalsh

Citizens Advice Bureau / Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Useful Links

The Isle of Skye is a popular destination with its scenic landscape dominated by the Cuillin mountain range. Tourism, along with forestry, inshore fishing and crofting are the main industries of the area. Skye is linked to the mainland via the Skye Bridge, as well as (seasonal) ferry services that link the island to the Western Isles, Mallaig and Lochalsh.

Apart from Skye’s natural beauty, attractions of the area include Eilean Donan Castle near Kyle and Dunvegan Castle, the ancestral home of the Macleods of Skye. The area is also a homeland of Gaelic, and the UHI Gaelic College is based at Sabhal Mor Ostaig, near Armadale.

Local Citizens Advice Bureau

Skye and Lochalsh Citizens Advice Bureau

The Green

Portree, Isle of Skye

IV51 9BT

Tel: 01478-612032

Fax: 01478-612897

Email: info@skyecab.casonline.org.uk

Directions:

Situated 50 yards from the zebra crossing.

Information:

Skye and Lochalsh CAB can work with clients in a number of languages that include Gaelic.

Opening Hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday 10.00 – 13.00 and 14.00 – 16.30

Wednesday, Friday 10.00 – 13.00

Closed Saturday and Sunday.

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools

Isle of Skye Swimming Pool
Camanachd Square
Portree
IV51 9BW

Tel: 01478 612655

Manager: Jim Ronald

Lochalsh Leisure Centre
Douglas Park,
Kyle of Lochalsh,
IV40 8AB
Tel: 01599 534848

Libraries

Broadford / Kyle of Lochalsh / Plockton / Portree

Broadford Library
Old Quarry Industrial Estate
Broadford
Isle of Skye IV49 9AB

Telephone: 01471 820075
Fax: 01471 820076

E-mail: broadford.library@highland.gov.uk

Opening hours:

Monday

closed

Tuesday

10.30 – 14.00, 15.00 – 17.00

Wednesday

10.30 – 14.00, 15.00 – 17.00

Thursday

10.30 – 14.00, 15.00 – 17.00

Friday

10.30 – 14.00, 15.00 – 17.00

Saturday

closed

Kyle of Lochalsh Library
Main Street
Kyle of Lochalsh
Skye & Lochalsh IV40 8BY

Telephone/Fax 01599 534146

E-mail: kyle.library@highland.gov.uk

Opening hours:

Monday

closed

Tuesday

13.00 – 15.00, 18.00 – 20.00

Wednesday

closed

Thursday

closed

Friday

10.00 – 14.00, 16.00 – 18.00

Saturday

closed

Plockton Library
Village Hall
Harbour Street
Plockton
Skye & Lochalsh
IV52 8TG

Telephone: 01599 544718
Fax: 01599 544718

E-mail: plockton.library@highland.gov.uk

Opening hours:

Monday

14.00 – 17.00

Tuesday

10.00 – 12.00

Wednesday

14.00 – 17.00

Thursday

18.00 – 20.00

Friday

closed

Saturday

closed

Portree Library
Bayfield Road
Portree
Isle of Skye
Skye & Lochalsh IV51 9EL

Telephone: 01478 612697
Fax: 01478 613314

E-mail: portree.library@highland.gov.uk

Opening hours:

Monday

13.00 – 20.00

Tuesday

closed

Wednesday

13.00 – 20.00

Thursday

10.00 – 17.00

Friday

10.00 – 17.00

Saturday

10.00 – 13.00

Schools

Auchtertyre Primary, Auchtertyre, Balmacara, Kyle IV40 8EG
A Earnshaw
Tel: 01599 566209 Fax: 01599 566201
e-mail: auchtertyre.primary@highland.gov.uk

Borrodale Primary, Glendale, Isle of Skye IV55 8WL
Mrs D MacInnes – Acting
Tel/Fax: 01470 511253
e-mail: borrodale.primary@highland.gov.uk

Broadford Primary, Broadford, Isle of Skye IV49 9AQ
J G Wyness, Bed
Tel: 01471 822453 Fax: 01474 822378
e-mail: broadford.primary@highland.gov.uk

Carbost Primary, Carbost, Isle of Skye IV47 8SR
Mrs I Kerr - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01478 640237
e-mail: carbost.primary@highland.gov.uk

Dunvegan Primary, Dunvegan, Isle of Skye IV55 8GU
Mrs D McInnes
01470 521307
e-mail: dunvegan.primary@highland.gov.uk

Edinbane Primary, by Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9PW
Mrs D McInnes - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01470 582229
e-mail: edinbane.primary@highland.gov.uk

Elgol Primary, Broadford, Isle of Skye IV49 9BJ
Mrs P Anderson
Tel/Fax: 01471 866234
e-mail: elgol.primary@highland.gov.uk

Glenelg Primary, by Kyle IV40 8LA
Mrs C Quinn
Tel/Fax: 01599 522252
e-mail: glenelg.primary@highland.gov.uk

Kilmuir Primary, Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9UB
Mrs H Hunter
01470 552271
e-mail: kilmuir.primary@highland.gov.uk

Knockbreck Primary, Hallin, Dunvegan, Isle of Skye IV55 8GP
Mrs M Nicolson – Acting
Tel: 01470 592258 Fax: 01470 592268
e-mail: knockbreck.primary2@highland.gov.uk

Kyle Primary, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8LG
Mrs C Ross
Tel: 01599 534194 Fax: 01599 534654
e-mail: kyle.primary@highland.gov.uk

Kyleakin Primary, Kyleakin, Isle of Skye IV41 8PH
Mrs C Ross - Acting
Tel: 01599 534150 Fax: 01599 534065
e-mail: kyleakin.primary@highland.gov.uk

Loch Duich Primary, Inverinate, Kyle of Lochalsh IV40 8HE
A Earnshaw - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01599 511379
e-mail: lochduich.primary@highland.gov.uk

Macdiarmid Primary, Skeabost Bridge, Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9PD
Ms M Nicolson
Tel: 01470 532229 Fax: 01470 532442
e-mail: macdiarmid.primary@highland.gov.uk

Plockton High School, Plockton, Ross-shire IV52 8TU
D J Ferguson, MA, Med
Tel: 01599 530800 Fax: 01599 544439
e-mail: plockton.high@highland.gov.uk

Plockton Primary, Plockton IV52 8TW
N MacKinnon
Tel: 01599 544346 Fax: 01599 544431
e-mail: plockton.primary@highland.gov.uk

Portree High School, Viewfield Road, Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9ET
J G Howieson, MA
Tel: 01478 612030 Fax: 01478 612154
e-mail: portree.high@highland.gov.uk

Portree Primary, Blaven Road, Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9PH
J Finlayson
Tel: 01478 613130 Fax: 01478 613357
e-mail: portree.primary@highland.gov.uk

Raasay Primary, Isle of Raasay, by Kyle IV40 8PB
Mrs I Kerr - Acting
Tel: 01478 660219 Fax: 01478 660219
e-mail: raasay.primary@highland.gov.uk

Sleat Primary, Teangue, Isle of Skye IV44 8RF
Mrs J MacLeod
Tel: 01471 844326 Fax: 01471 844413
e-mail: sleat.primary@highland.gov.uk

Staffin Primary, Staffin, Isle of Skye IV51 9JX
Mrs I Kerr - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01470 562273
e-mail: staffin.primary@highland.gov.uk

Struan Primary, Struan, Isle of Skye IV56 8FB
Miss C MacLennan
Tel: 01470 572272 Fax: 01470 572354
e-mail: struan.primary@highland.gov.uk

Uig Primary, Uig, by Portree, Isle of Skye IV51 9YD
Mrs M Holt
01470 542354
e-mail: uig.primary@highland.gov.uk

Useful links

Highland Council pages on Skye and Lochalsh

http://www.highland.gov.uk/yourcouncil/highlandfactsandfigures/
thehighlandcouncilareas/skyeandlochalsh/

Highlands and Islands Enterprise Skye and Lochalsh

http://www.hie.co.uk/sale

Lochalsh.com website http://www.lochalsh.com/home.html

This page was last updated on 27 November 2006. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme