Highland Life logo
A great place to live, work and play


Welcome to Ross and Cromarty

Citizens Advice Bureaux / Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools / Libraries / Schools / Useful Links

 

The area covered by Ross and Cromarty stretches from the gentle farmland of the East coast all the way to the dramatic mountains of the West. Towns include Invergordon, a popular stopping-off location for cruise liners; the Victorian spa village of Strathpeffer with its grand hotels and little cafes, and Ullapool on the West coast, a picturesque fishing village that is also home to the ferry service to Stornoway in the Western Isles.

 

Local Citizens Advice Bureaux

Ross and Cromarty Citizens Advice Bureau

Balallan

4 Novar Road

Alness IV17 0QG

Tel: 01349-883333

Fax: 01349-884126

Email: adviser@alnesscab.casonline.org.uk

http://www.hain.org.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 10.00 – 14.00

Closed Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday

 

 

 

Dingwall Citizens Advice Bureau

4 Church Street

IV15 9SB

Tel: 01349-864850

Fax: 01349-860102

Email: adviser@dingwallcab.casoline.org.uk

 

Opening Hours:

Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday 10.00 – 14.00

Closed Monday, Thursday, Saturday and Sunday

 

 

Leisure Centres and Swimming Pools

 

Black Isle Leisure Centre (No Swimming Pool)
Deans Road,
Fortrose,
IV10 8TJ
Tel: 01381 621252
Manager: Graeme Ross

 

Alness Swimming Pool
Alness Academy
Alness
IV17 0UY
Tel: 01349 882456
Manager: Emma Thomson

 

Dingwall Leisure Centre
Tulloch Avenue,
Dingwall,
IV15 9LH
Tel: 01349 864226
Manager: Scott Lindsay
Web-site: www.dingwallleisure.co.uk

 

Gairloch Leisure Centre
Achtercairn,
Gairloch,
IV21 2BP
Tel: 01445 712345
Manager: Carole Drinkwater

 

Invergordon Leisure Centre
Academy Road,
Invergordon,
IV18 0LB
Tel: 01349 853689
Manager: Emma Thomson
Web-site: www.invergordonleisure.co.uk

 

Lochbroom Leisure Centre
Quay Street
Ullapool
IV26 2TU
Tel: 01854 612884
Manager: Joanne Crosbie
Web-site: www.lochbroomleisure.co.uk

 

Tain Royal Academy Community Complex
Hartfield Road,
Tain,
IV19 1DX
Tel: 01862 893767
Manager: Catherine Morgan

 

Averon Leisure Centre
High Street,
Alness,
IV17 0GB
Tel: 01349 882287
Web-site: www.averonleisurecentre.co.uk

 

Poolewe Swimming Pool
Cliffton
Poolewe
IV22 2JU
Tel: 01445 781345

 

Libraries

Achiltibuie / Alness / Cromarty / Dingwall / Evanton / Fortrose / Gairloch / Invergordon / Lochcarron / Muir of Ord / Tain / Ullapool

 

Achiltibuie Library
Coigach Community Hall
Achiltibuie
Ross & Cromarty
IV26 2YG

Tel/Fax UK: 01854 622305
Tel/Fax non UK: +441854 622305

email: achiltibuie.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday closed
Tuesday closed
Wednesday 10.00 - 13.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Thursday closed
Friday closed
Saturday closed

 

Alness Library
Averon Centre
High Street
Alness
Ross & Cromarty IV17 0QB

Telephone: 01349 882674
Fax: 01349 883587

E-mail: alness.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday 10.00 - 13.30, 15.00 - 18.00
Tuesday 10.00 - 13.30, 15.00 - 18.00
Wednesday 10.00 - 13.30
Thursday 10.00 - 13.30, 15.00 - 19.30
Friday 10.00 - 13.30, 15.00 - 18.00
Saturday 10.30 - 13.30

 

Cromarty Library
Hugh Miller Institute
Church Street
Cromarty
Ross & Cromarty IV11 8XA

Telephone: 01381 600318
Fax: 01381 600318

E-mail: cromarty.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday 10.00 - 12.00
Tuesday 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Wednesday closed
Thursday 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Friday closed
Saturday closed

 

Dingwall Library
Old Academy Buildings
Tulloch Street
Dingwall IV15 9JZ

Telephone: 01349 863163
Fax: 01349 865239

E-mail: dingwall.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday 09.30 - 18.00
Tuesday 09.30 - 18.00
Wednesday 09.30 - 13.30
Thursday 09.30 - 18.00
Friday 09.30 - 18.00
Saturday 10.00 - 13.00

 

Evanton Library
20 Balconie Street
Evanton
Ross & Cromarty IV16 9UN

Telephone: 01349 830381

E-mail: evanton.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday closed
Tuesday 10.00 - 12.00, 15.00 - 17.00
Wednesday 10.00 - 12.00
Thursday closed
Friday 15.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Saturday closed

 

Fortrose Community Library
Fortrose Academy
Academy Street
Fortrose
Ross & Cromarty IV10 8TW

Telephone/Fax: 01381 622235

E-mail: fortrose.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours - term time:

Monday 09.00 - 17.00
Tuesday 09.00 - 17.00
Wednesday 09.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Thursday 09.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Friday 09.00 - 17.00
Saturday 10.00 - 13.00

 

Gairloch Library
Gairloch High School
Gairloch
Ross & Cromarty
IV21 2BP

Telephone: 01445 712469
Fax: 01445 712438

email: gairloch.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours - term time:

Monday 09.00 - 17.30
Tuesday 09.00 - 17.00
Wednesday 09.00 - 19.00
Thursday 09.00 - 17.00
Friday 09.00 - 17.30
Saturday closed

 

Invergordon Library
High Street
Invergordon
Ross & Cromarty
IV18 ODG

Telephone: 01349 852698
Fax: 01349 852698
E-mail: invergordon.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday closed
Tuesday 12.00 - 17.00
Wednesday 10.00 - 12.00, 14.00 - 17.00
Thursday 10.00 - 12.00, 14.00 - 17.00
Friday 14.00 - 20.00
Saturday closed

 

Lochcarron Library
The Howard Doris Centre
Lochcarron
Ross & Cromarty IV54 8UD

Telephone: 01520 722679
Fax: 01520 722679

email: lochcarron.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday closed
Tuesday 10.00 - 12.00, 19.00 - 21.00
Wednesday 14.30 - 17.30
Thursday 19.00 - 21.00
Friday 14.30 - 16.30
Saturday closed

 

Muir of Ord Library
Tarradale School
Muir of Ord
Ross & Cromarty IV6 7SU

Telephone: 01463 870196
Fax: 01463 870196

E-mail: muiroford.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours:

Monday 10.00 - 12.30, 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Tuesday closed
Wednesday closed
Thursday 10.00 - 12.30, 18.00 - 20.00
Friday 14.00 - 17.00
Saturday closed

 

 

Tain Library
Stafford Street
Tain
Ross & Cromarty
IV19 1AZ

Telephone: 01862 892391
Fax: 01862 892391

E-mail: tain.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours

Monday Closed
Tuesday 10.30 - 13.30, 15.00 - 19.00
Wednesday 10.30 - 13.30
Thursday 14.00 - 17.30
Friday 14.00 - 17.30
Saturday 10.00 - 13.00

 

Ullapool Library
Community High School,
Mill Street,
Ullapool,
Ross & Cromarty
IV26 2UN

Telephone: 01854 612543
Fax: 01854 612543

E-mail: ullapool.library@highland.gov.uk

 

Opening hours - term time:

Monday 09.00 - 17.00
Tuesday 09.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Wednesday 09.00 - 17.00
Thursday 09.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Friday 09.00 - 17.00
Saturday closed

 

Opening hours - school holidays:

Monday closed
Tuesday 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Wednesday closed
Thursday 10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00, 18.00 - 20.00
Friday 10.00 - 13.00, 14.00 - 17.00
Saturday closed

 

Schools

Achiltibuie Primary, Achiltibuie, Ullapool IV26 2YG
A R Fraser
Tel: 01854 622267
e-mail: achiltibuie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Alness Academy, Alness IV17 0UY
K MacIver
Tel: 01349 883341 Fax: 01349 882614
e-mail: alness.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Applecross Primary, Applecross, Strathcarron IV54 8LU
Mrs C F McCowan, MA
Tel: 01520 744325
e-mail: applecross.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ardross Primary, Ardross, Alness IV17 0XW
Mrs M Foster, MA
Tel: 01349 882345
e-mail: ardross.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Avoch Primary, Avoch IV9 8PS
Miss C K Paterson
Tel: 01381 620369 Fax: 01381 622300
e-mail: avoch.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Badcaul Primary, Dundonnell, by Garve IV23 2QY
Mrs S Taylor - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01854 633265
e-mail: badcaul.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Bridgend Primary, Ardross Road, Alness IV17 0QA
E Scott
Tel/Fax:01349 882285
e-mail: bridgend.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Bualnaluib Primary, Aultbea, Achnasheen IV22 2JH
Mrs J Ross - Acting
Tel: 01445 731254
e-mail: bualnaluib.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Conon Primary, Leanaig Road, Conon Bridge IV7 8BE
Mrs V McCormick
Tel: 01349 861867 Fax: 01349 866629
e-mail: conon.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Coulhill Primary, Alness, IV17 0RD
Ms E Gemmell
Tel: 01349 882713 Fax: 01349 884622
e-mail: coulhill.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Craighill Primary, Craighill Terrace, Tain IV19 1EU
D Mackay
Tel/Fax: 01862 892663
e-mail: craighill.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Cromarty Primary, Braehead, Cromarty IV11 8XR
Miss A L Rose
Tel: 01381 600465
e-mail: cromarty.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Culbokie Primary, Culbokie, Dingwall IV7 8JH
Ms S A Stevenson
Tel: 01349 877268
e-mail: culbokie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Cullicudden Primary, Cullicudden, Dingwall IV7 8LL
F T S Haldane - Acting
Tel: 01349 877208
e-mail: cullicudden.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Dingwall Academy, Dingwall IV15 9LT
G A MacKenzie, MA
Tel: 01349 863071 Fax: 01349 865005
e-maol: dingwall.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Dingwall Primary, Ross Avenue, Dingwall IV15 9UU
R F MacKenzie, MA
Tel: 01349 862081 Fax: 01349 861157
e-mail: dingwall.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ferintosh Primary, Easter Kinkell, Dingwall IV7 8HZ
Mrs L Caddell - Acting
Tel: 01349 861827
e-mail: ferintosh.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Fortrose Academy, Academy Street, Fortrose IV10 8TW
J D Simpson, BSc
Tel: 01381 620310 Fax: 01381 621699
e-mail: fortrose.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Gairloch High School, Achtercairn, Gairloch IV21 2BP
J Port
Tel: 01445 712275 Fax: 01445 712318
e-mail: gairloch.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Gairloch Primary School, Achtercairn, Gairloch IV21 2BP
Miss L Redpath
Tel: 01445 712165
e-mail: gairloch.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Hill of Fearn Primary, Rhynie Road, Fearn IV20 1SU
Mrs A MacKay - Acting
Tel: 01862 832257
e-mail: hilloffearn.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Hilton of Cadboll Primary, Hilton, Tain IV20 1XR
Mrs M Blackwell
Tel: 01862 832272
e-mail: hiltonofcadboll.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Inver Primary, Inver, Tain IV20 1RX
Mrs S Hoggarth
Tel/Fax:01862 871431
e-mail: inver.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Inverasdale Primary, Inverasdale, Poolewe IV22 2LR
Mrs J Ross
Tel: 01445 781246
e-mail: inverasdale.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Invergordon Academy, Academy Road, Invergordon IV18 0LD
J Steven
Tel: 01349 852362 Fax: 01349 853748
e-mail: invergordon.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Kiltearn Primary, Drummond Road, Evanton IV16 9UT
Mrs L McIntosh
Tel/Fax: 01349 830568
e-mail: kiltearn.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Kinlochewe Primary, Incheril, Kinlochewe, IV22 2PA
Mrs Viviene MacLennan (Acting Head)
Tel/Fax:01445 760260
e-mail: kinlochewe.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Knockbreck Primary, Tain IV19 1BL
Miss K De Jonckheere
Tel: 01862 892272
e-mail: knockbreck.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Lochcarron Primary, Strathcarron IV54 8YS
Mrs A Stewart - Acting
Tel/Fax: 01520 722445
e-mail: lochcarron.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Marybank Primary, Urray, Muir of Ord IV6 7UN
A Danson - Acting
Tel: 01997 433320 Fax: 01997 433400
e-mail: marybank.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Maryburgh Primary, Hood Street, Maryburgh, Dingwall IV7 8EB
Mrs L M Moodie
Tel/Fax: 01349 861821
e-mail: maryburgh.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Milton Primary, Kildary, Invergordon IV18 0PX
Miss C Cameron
Tel/Fax: 01862 842537
e-mail: milton.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Mulbuie Primary, Mulbuie, Muir of Ord IV6 7RB
Mrs C Mack – Acting
Tel: 01349 861289
e-mail: mulbuie.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Munlochy Primary, 56 Millbank Road, Munlochy IV8 8NL
Mrs M Schmidt
Tel: 01463 811489
e-mail: munlochy.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Newhall Primary, Balblair, Dingwall IV7 8LQ
F T S Haldane
Tel: 01381 610227 Fax: 01381 610441
e-mail: newhall.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Newmore Primary, Newmore, Invergordon IV18 0PG
Mrs M Wright
Tel: 01349 853300 Fax: 01349 854382
e-mail: newmore.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

North Kessock Primary, Ferry Brae, North Kessock IV1 3WX
Miss H Henderson
Tel: 01463 731667 Fax: 01463 731769
e-mail: northkessock.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Obsdale Primary, Obsdale Park, Alness IV17 0TP
Mrs F R R Leslie
Tel: 01349 882860
e-mail: obsdale.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Park Primary, Albany Road, Invergordon IV18 0HA
Mrs E Neil
Tel: 01349 852037 Fax: 01349 854424
e-mail: park.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Poolewe Primary, Poolewe, Achnasheen IV22 2LA
Mrs M Young
Tel: 01445 781340
e-mail: poolewe.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Scoraig Primary, Scoraig, Dundonnell, Garve IV23 2RE
Mrs S Symon
Tel: 01854 633261
e-mail: scoraig.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Shieldaig Primary, Shieldaig, Strathcarron IV54 8XN
Miss J Miller
Tel: 01520 755269
e-mail: shieldaig.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

South Lodge Primary, Castle Road, Invergordon IV18 0LW
Mrs A Cleland
Tel: 01349 852521
e-mail: southlodge.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Strathconon Primary, Strathconon, Muir of Ord IV6 7QD
Ms A Matheson
Tel: 01997 477257
e-mail: strathconon.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Strathgarve Primary, Garve IV23 2PR
Miss M MacDonald
Tel: 01997 414286 Fax: 01997 414354
e-mail: strathgarve.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Strathpeffer Primary, Strathpeffer IV14 9AG
Mrs C Ritchie
Tel: 01997 421824 Fax: 01997 421592
e-mail: strathpeffer.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Tain Royal Academy, Scotsburn Road, Tain IV19 1PS
D MacLeod
Tel: 01862 892121 Fax: 01862 893334
e-mail: tainroyal.academy@highland.gov.uk

 

Tarbat Old Primary, Tarbatness Road, Portmahomack IV20 1YA
Mrs A MacKay
Tel/Fax: 01862 871536
e-mail: tarbatold.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Tarradale Primary, Black Isle Road, Muir of Ord IV6 7RR
Miss C Reid
Tel: 01463 870484
e-mail: tarradale.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Tore Primary, Tore, Muir of Ord IV6 7SA
Mrs L Caddell - Acting
Tel: 01463 811481
e-mail: tore.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Torridon Primary, Fasaig, Torridon, Achnasheen IV22 2EZ
Miss A MacRae
Tel: 01445 791316
e-mail: torridon.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

Ullapool High School, Mill Street, Ullapool IV26 2UN
P D Harrison, BSc
Tel: 01854 612078Fax: 01854 612793
e-mail: ullapool.high@highland.gov.uk

 

Ullapool Primary, Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UE
K Borthwick
Tel: 01854 612535 Fax: 01854 613246
e-mail: ullapool.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

St. Clement’s School, Old Academy, Dingwall IV15 9JZ
Mrs M MacKenzie
Tel/Fax: 01349 863284
e-mail: stclements.primary@highland.gov.uk

 

St. Duthus School, Academy Street, Tain IV19 1ED
J Eggermont, BA, Med
Tel: 01862 894407
e-mail: stduthus.primary@highland.gov.uk

Useful links

 

Highland Council pages on Ross and Cromarty

http://www.highland.gov.uk/yourcouncil/highlandfactsandfigures/
thehighlandcouncilareas/rossandcromarty/

Highlands & Islands Enterprise Inverness and East Highland

http://www.hie.co.uk/inbse

Highlands & Islands Enterprise Skye and Wester Ross

http://www.hie.co.uk/sale

 

 

This page was last updated on 27 November 2006. If you spot any inaccuracies or inconsistency in information, please email us at hief@scvo.org.uk

© 2010 Highland Public Services Partnership.
Project part-financed by the European Union (European Regional Development Fund) within the INTERREG IIIB Northern Periphery Programme